Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Book Review: Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater


Ballad: A Gathering of Faerie by Maggie Stiefvater continues the story begun in the Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception.  Only this time the story is told from the point of view of James, an extremely gifted musical student and his faerie muse, Nuala who wants to snatch his soul.  After what happened in Lament, James has plenty of reasons to fear the faeries, but finds himself drawn to Nuala as they collaborate on an achingly beautiful musical composition.  And Nuala finds herself drawn to James in a different way than she is usually drawn to talented humans. Could she be feeling true love for James?   To complicate matters the new faerie is working a devious plot that will be hatched on Halloween, one that will not only endanger Nuala and James, but James former crush Dee.  Can James get over Dee, battle the evil faeries and find true love with Nuala? 
Stiefvater weaves an enticing magical tale. It’s almost as though she has been struck with a little faerie muse herself. Readers who enjoy Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series or Carrie Jones' Need series will enjoy Stiefvater’s novels.

2 comments:

Natalie (I'd So Rather Be Reading) said...

I met Maggie a few months ago and she is super fun!

Anonymous said...

I would love to meet her. I'm especially fond of her Wolves of Mercy Falls series.

Booklady